SMILE General Meeting minutes

Wednesday, May 3, 2023 At SMILE Station, S.E. 13th at Tenino

Main Website Procedural www.SellwoodMoreland.org <<>> www.SMILErecords.org

OFFICERS PRESENT: Elizabeth Milner, Vice President; Pat Hainley, Treasurer; Eric Norberg, Secretary

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Bob Burkholder, David Dugan, MacKenzie Torres, Jim Friscia, Emily Pitts

SMILE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Tracy Fisher, Vikki DeGaa, Ryan Hickey, Grant Huling, Ed Nunez, Sue Safford, Zack Sumar, Ayomide Nikzi, Creed Broce, Lance [unreadable], [additional, who did not sign in]

SMILE MEMBERS ATTENDING VIA ZOOM: Elaine O'Keefe, Carol Trekas

VISITORS: Connie Shipley (Royal Rosarians), Lindsey Johnson, Southeast Uplift

The meeting was called to order by SMILE Vice President Elizabeth Milner at 7:34 p.m., who explained that this meeting was entirely devoted to our annual May Board election, which would be overseen by Lindsay Johnson of the Southeast Uplift neighborhood coalition, and the members of this year's SMILE Election Committee. She also told those present that our current President, Elaine O'Keefe, was ill this evening, but would be attending by ZOOM, and was standing for an at-large seat on the Board this year.

Milner led the self-introductions of everyone in the room, and then invited a review of the minutes of the April 12 SMILE General Meeting. After the review, David Dugan moved the minutes be approved as submitted, MacKenzie Torres seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously.

Vice President Milner then introduced the election. Paper ballots would be available at this meeting until it adjourned; thereafter all voting would take place online, through the main SMILE website – www.SellwoodMoreland.org. Voting would close there at 6 p.m. this Friday night, May 5.

The next order of business was hearing the statements of those running for the four officer positions (all unopposed this year), and then the candidates for the five open Board seats (the fifth open Board seat would be that of David Dugan, with one year remaining; the fifth highest vote-getter of the seven declared candidates for the five seats would fill the remaining year of Dugan's term, ending next May, and would then be able to run for election.

The statements were offered by the candidates in the order below; their official statements, as posted on the main SMILE website, are appended to these minutes by reference:

- David Dugan, candidate for President
- Elizabeth Milner, candidate for re-election as Vice President
- Eric Norberg, candidate for re-election as Secretary
- Pat Hainley, candidate for re-election as Treasurer
- Grant Huling, candidate for at-large Board seat
- Tracy Wayne Fisher, candidate for at-large Board seat

- Ayomide Nikzi, candidate for at-large Board seat
- Ryan Hickey, candidate for at-large Board seat
- Carol Trekas, candidate for at-large Board seat
- Elaine O'Keefe, candidate for at-large Board seat
- Bob Burkholder, candidate for re-election for at-large Board seat

Anyone present who qualified as a SMILE member – a resident of Sellwood or Westmoreland, a business owner, operator, or employee in the neighborhood; or a land owner in the neighborhood – could at that point step up with a nomination or self-nomination to any of the open seats, and was invited to do so at this point by Vice President Milner. Nobody additional volunteered to run, so the nominations were closed. Eric Norberg reminded that the four highest vote-getters for the open Board seats would receive the normal two-year terms, and the fifth-highest vote getter for a Board seat would complete Dugan's term (one year remaining).

Several attendees expressed an interest in voting on a paper ballot, and were accommodated. All others would be invited to vote online. Sometime this weekend Southeast Uplift was to announce the winning slate. The two Board candidates who did not get elected, whichever of the Board candidates they might be, were warmly invited to get involved with SMILE or SMILE committees, attend SMILE meetings, and run again next May.

The meeting completed with announcements:

- The SMILE neighborhood cleanup will take place on Saturday, Mau 20, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., at the south-end parking lot of Westmoreland Park. Volunteers to help with it are still welcome.
- Commie Shipley of the Royal Rosarians arose to remind those present of two preparatory sessions for the Milk Carton Boat Races coming up this month at the Sellwood Community House and at Moreland Presbyterian Church, and then the races themselves the last official event of the 2023 Portland Rose Festival, and the only Rose Festival event in our neighborhood, which will take place on Sunday, June 25, starting at noon at the Westmoreland Park Casting Pond.
- The final announcement was of a Portland Parks public meeting on the subject of the recent removal of night lighting in Sellwood Park and Sellwood Riverfront Park that meeting will be at SMILE Station next Wednesday evening, May 10, 7 to 8:30 p.m., and is open to all.

One attendee offered a question as "new business" – wondering about the status of the "Safety Committee". It developed that he referred to the SMILE standing "Crime Prevention Committee", which has become inactive with the recent resignation of its Chair; he wondered if it should be revived, and was assured it still had members, but needed a new Chair. He felt himself unable to handle such a role at the present time, but hoped to see the committee active once again soon.

There being no other business, Pat Hainley moved the meeting be adjourned, and David Dugan seconded the motion – which went on to pass with apparent unanimity at 8:25 p.m. *Tonight's election results will be appended to these minutes when they become available.*

We introduce your new SMILE board!

SMILE Board Members

Officers:

David Dugan – President <u>president@sellwood.org</u>

Elizabeth Milner – Vice President <u>vice.president@sellwood.org</u>

Pat Hainley – Treasurer <u>treasurer@sellwood.org</u>

Eric Norberg – Secretary <u>norberg@myexcel.com</u>

Board Members (terms expire May 2024):

Zack Duffly zack.duffly@sellwood.org

Jim Friscia jim.friscia@sellwood.org

Grant Huling grant.huling@sellwood.org

Mackenzie Torres <u>mackenzie.torres@sellwood.org</u>

Board Members (terms expire May 2025):

Bob Burkholder <u>bob.burkholder@sellwood.org</u>

Tracy Fisher <u>tracy.fisher@sellwood.org</u>

Ayomide Nikzi <u>ayomide.nikzi@sellwood.org</u>

Elaine O'Keefe <u>elaine.okeefe@sellwood.org</u>

SMILE is YOUR neighborhood association; your place to be engaged, meet new people, bring your ideas and your passions. Please join us for the next general meeting, Wednesday, June 7th, 7:30-9pm, at SMILE Station.