SMILE General Meeting minutes

May 5, 2021 Via ZOOM, online

Main WebsiteProceduralwww.SellwoodMoreland.org<<>>www.SMILErecords.org

OFFICERS PRESENT: Simon Fulford, President; Bob Burkholder, Vice President; Pat Hainley, Treasurer; Eric Norberg, Secretary

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Jim Friscia; Neal Spinler; Elaine O'Keefe; Priyesh Krishnan; Juliana James

SMILE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: R. Corless; Ayomide Nikzi; Sarah Bunger; Bruce Joncas and Lisa Sheppard; Mark Devendorf; Zach Duffly; Christopher Handford; David Schoellhamer; Michael Hayes; Jason Henderson; Emily Pitts; Neal Foster

OTHER GUESTS: Paola De La Cruz, Southeast Uplift

President Simon Fulford called the meeting to order at 7:35 p.m. He began by reviewing, for those attending, the protocols for SMILE's ZOOM meetings, as well as the evening's agenda, and the minutes of the April 7 SMILE General Meeting. With a quorum present (peak attendance was 27 participants), Elaine O'Keefe made a motion, seconded by Pat Hainley, that the minutes be approved as submitted. No objections were made to the motion, which was then announced by Fulford as unanimously approved.

President Fulford next turned to the annual SMILE Board Election, which was to be the main item of business at the evening's General Meeting, in accordance with the SMILE Bylaws. He invited this year's SMILE Election Committee to proceed with the agenda. Elaine O'Keefe said that the candidates would introduce themselves, and that the meeting would conclude with the opening of electronic voting, as arranged and supervised by Southeast Uplift – which would proceed until 7 p.m. the following evening. For those who were unable or unwilling to vote online, a paper balloting process will be overseen by Southeast Uplift tomorrow afternoon, 1-3 p.m., at SMILE Station, and then at the Thursday Market at the Sellwood Community House, S.E. Spokane Street and 15th Avenue, 4-7 p.m. Voting will end at 7 p.m. Thursday, May 6, and the votes will be tabulated over the weekend at Southeast Uplift – which will then announce the winning candidates shortly afterward; probably on Monday, May 10. Any further nominations from the floor for any position were invited – one additional Board candidate volunteered – and then nominations were closed.

Vikki DeGaa of the Election Committee then introduced the fifteen candidates for a brief introduction and/or statement. First were the candidates the four officer seats – there proved to be one candidate for each seat, with no additional candidates being put forth – in order, Simon Fulford, candidate for President; Ayomide Nikzi [pronounced "eye-oh-meedy"], candidate for Vice President; Pat Hainley, candidate for Treasurer; and Eric Norberg, candidate for Secretary.

Vikki then introduced the eleven candidates for the five open two-year Board seats (the fifth highest vote-getter would serve only one year, to complete the term of Allison Daniel, who was elected last year but resigned the Board and left the area to pursue her career elsewhere).

The candidates spoke in alphabetical order by last name:

- Sarah Bunger (recently arrived from Chicago; enthusiastic about the neighborhood)
- Bob Burkholder (previous Board Member, most recently SMILE Vice President, and head of the SMILE Emergency Preparedness Committee)
- Mark Devendorf (TV filmmaker, and teacher at Clackamas Community College)
- Zach Duffly (Chair of the Smile Transportation Committee, and an attorney)
- Christopher Handford (ten years in neighborhood, business assn. executive, member of the Sellwood Community House Board)
- Michael Hayes (former SMILE Board Member, an advocate for parks and trails)
- Jason Henderson (loves the neighborhood, wants to help)
- Emily Pitts (3-year resident, concerned with cars and parking, loves neighborhood)
- Lisa Sheppard (3-year resident, teacher, loves the small-town feel here)
- Neal Spinler (SMILE Board Member, and is on SMILE committees)
- Neal Foster (unemployed resident; wants to help where needed)

At the conclusion of these introductions, Elaine O'Keefe announced that the final ballot had just been completed and tested by Paola at Southeast Uplift, and that the online voting would start when this meeting had been adjourned.

At this point two Board Members who had not sought re-election asked to briefly offer thanks to SMILE for the opportunity to serve; and both said they hoped to remain involved.

Then David Schoellhamer, Chair of the Land Use Committee, gave background on both "DOZA" and the SMILE Main Street Plan, which we hope to have the city accept as voluntary guideline options. He stressed that neighborhood support is definitely needed to be expressed to the Portland City Council – and that it must be received by the Council by 2 p.m. on May 12. The proposal is supported by SMILE, SMBA, and PDX Main Streets.

Elaine O'Keefe told those in attendance that the ballot, and the candidates' statements, would be available when this meeting is adjourned at the following web address:

https://www.sellwood.org/2021/05/05/vote-now

Pat Hainley then moved the meeting be adjourned; Eric Norberg seconded the motion; and President Simon Fulford adjourned the meeting at 8:51 p.m.

NOTE: Southeast Uplift's transmitted results of this election will be appended to these minutes when they are received.